Best Blenders Review (Vitamix, KitchenAid, Blendtec)

Compilation of photos tested in our Best Blenders Review

When it comes to blenders, we’ve tried just about all of them. Our very first blender was an Oster, then we graduated to a KitchenAid, then a Vitamix. And after having issues with our refurbished Vitamix, we tried a Blendtec.

It seems every blender has its pros and cons, a special marketing claim, and a loyal fan base that touts it as the best. So when our 5-year-old Blendtec recently started having some motor issues, we figured it was time for a formal, side-by-side review of some of the most popular and high-quality blenders on the market.

THE GROUND RULES

  • We chose 3 professional-quality blenders and purchased them on Amazon.
  • This review is not sponsored in any way. We were not given free product or compensated for any of our reviews, and we had no contact with any of these brands.
  • We tried to be as unbiased and objective as possible when reviewing.
  • All 3 blenders are made with BPA-free plastic.
  • For consumer awareness, we analyzed the following factors:
    • Cost (US $) — subject to variability
    • Weight
    • Warranty
    • Motor speed
    • Container size
    • Maximum capacity
  • We also compared the blenders, grading on a scale of 1-5 (1 being poor, 5 being excellent), in regard to:
    • Noise
    • Ease of use
    • Security of lid
    • Sturdiness
    • Spout pour-ability
    • Ease of cleaning
    • Esthetics
    • Other
  • We also tested their ability to make the following items, grading on a scale of 1-5 (1 being poor, 5 being excellent):
  • NOTE: We also attempted to make coconut butter in these blenders, but ultimately decided that blenders really aren’t the best appliance to use for making coconut butter. We would strongly recommend sticking to a food processor (none of them got the coconut butter smooth; some made very fine coconut flake that never got close to butter).

RESULTS

Showing the first, second, and third place winners of our Best Blenders Review

First place: Vitamix 5200 Blender Professional-Grade, 64 oz. Container*
Second place: KitchenAid KSB8270FP Pro Line Series Blender
Third place: Blendtec Professional 750 Blender with Wildside+ Jar (90 oz)

THE REVIEW

#1: Vitamix 5200 Blender Professional-Grade, 64 oz. Container

Note: we like this specific model of Vitamix with a narrow-base container. We have used other models and not been as impressed with the design. Additionally, we had a poor experience with a refurbished Vitamix and would recommend purchasing new, if possible.

Vitamix 5200 Blender for our review of the best blenders

Cost: $400
Weight: 10 pounds, 9 ounces
Warranty: 7 years
Motor speed: 2 Peak HP
Container size: 64 ounces
Maximum capacity: 64 ounces

Top down shot of the Vitamix 5200 blender and all of its parts

Noise: 5/5 – not unreasonably loud even on the highest setting.
Ease of use: 4/5 – variable and high switch is not very intuitive. Have to read the manual to know that they don’t recommend starting it on high mode. But we like that the on/off switch is in plain sight and the crank dial is easy to use. It doesn’t have any settings, but because of how easily it tends to blend things, we don’t find that to be frustrating.
Security of lid: 5/5 – very secure lid that’s sturdy and domed, so it decreases likelihood of spillover while blending.
Sturdiness: 4.25/5 – base is heavy and sturdy, but not quite as sturdy as the KitchenAid. The container fits well onto the base, but it doesn’t necessarily feel super secure (easily tipped off base).
Spout pour-ability: 4/5 – while we appreciate that there is a spout, it tends to allow things to overflow out of the sides too easily and it is also too wide to pour precisely into a small container, which is sometimes frustrating.
Ease of cleaning: 4/5 – lid is tall without a lot of ridges, so it is easy to clean. However, the container is tall and skinny so it can be difficult to clean without a long-handled brush. And because there are 4 prongs on the blade, food can get stuck under them. Otherwise, it is relatively easy to clean.
Esthetics: 3.5/5 – the shape of the blender and base are clunky, tall, and kind of ugly on the counter.
Other: Has an unsettling smell with initial use — smells like it is overheating. But that went away after a bit and only came back when overworked.

*Although we chose the Vitamix as the winner, we must admit it’s unsettling how easily it overheats when difficult-to-blend ingredients are added. During this review it overheated twice: Once while attempting to blend coconut butter for 5 minutes, and again while trying to make a modest batch of banana nice cream. That being said, if you use the Vitamix as a blender and not a food processor, and are careful not to tax it with difficult ingredients (e.g. dates, large chunks of frozen banana with no liquid to help blend, etc.), it clearly performs better than the other blenders we reviewed. Ultimately, we decided to keep the Vitamix as our everyday blender and give it the top prize, but we did so cautiously and include tips at the bottom of the review to help prevent overheating.

Vitamix 5200 blender with homemade nut butter in it
Test #1: Almond Butter: 5/5

At 1 minute 45 seconds, it was a visible nut butter. Blended an additional 1 minute 30 seconds to get it creamier. Has a nice drippy consistency and is very smooth. It made nut butter with the most ease and generated the least mess of the three blenders. Used the tamper a little but didn’t require much scraping down.

Test #2: Cashew Milk: 5/5

Blended really nicely and there was very minimal residual cashew pulp when pouring through a fine mesh strainer.

Blender of Banana Nice Cream made in a Vitamix
Test# 3: Nice Cream: 3.5/5

Despite taking precautions to prevent overheating, it overheated within less than 1 minute. It smelled like burning plastic and as if it was going to catch fire. After letting the machine cool, we were able to try again and eventually got it to a smooth consistency. But overall it was a frustrating experience and it works best as a 2 person job! (See tips at bottom of review on how to avoid overheating.)

Test #4: Oat Flour: 5/5

Only took 10 pulses until a clear flour was achieved. Also, the oat flour didn’t fly around and stick to the lid, which saved time on cleaning.

Test #5: Romesco Sauce: 5/5

Only took 20 seconds and it got completely smooth and creamy. It handles small batches really well due to the narrow shape of the container.

Test #6: Smoothie Bowl: 4.5/5

Took about 2 minutes 15 seconds to blend. Blended it a little longer out of preference to get it smoother. Definitely got it the creamiest out of the three blenders. The tamper is well designed for making smoothie bowls.

Vitamix Overall Score: 57.75/65

Pros:
  • Versatile
  • Blends small and large amounts thanks to the narrow but tall container
  • Relatively user-friendly and easy to clean
  • Lower price point
  • Performed best on most tasks

Cons:

  • Tendency to overheat with tougher ingredients (see notes at bottom of review to avoid overheating).

#2: KitchenAid KSB8270FP Pro Line Series Blender

KitchenAid Pro Series Blender in white for our unbiased blender review

Cost: $450
Weight: 21 pounds
Warranty: 10 years
Motor speed: 3.5 Peak HP
Container size: 87 ounces
Maximum capacity: 56 ounces

Top down shot of the KitchenAid Pro Series Blender in Frosted Pearl color

Noise: 3.75/5 – overall louder than the other two blenders due to the more powerful motor. Relatively quiet when blending water (for comparison), but when blending the cashew milk it seemed to be quite a bit louder than the other two.
Ease of use: 4.5/5 – pretty intuitive and we like that it has a crank dial for higher speeds. The stop/start is easy. There is no on/off switch, which simplifies use. Can pulse on high or low. We like that it has settings within the crank dial for easy access.
Security of lid: 4.5/5 – sturdy, but not quite as secure fitting as Vitamix.
Sturdiness: 5/5 – feels the most sturdy because the base and lid are heavy and the container feels well secured to the base. Feels like you could walk away from it easily. Even if blending something difficult, we don’t think it would move or shake.
Spout pour-ability: 3.75/5 – there is no spout, only four corners, which are so rounded/wide that it is difficult to pour into small containers without spilling.
Ease of cleaning: 3.75/5 – the lid has pretty deep ridges and it is annoying to clean because food can get stuck in them easily. Because of the four prongs, it is also difficult to clean the bottom edges. It would be difficult to clean with a sponge without getting cut by the blades. A long-handled brush is necessary for cleaning safely.
Esthetics: 5/5 – definitely the prettiest. Love the white base and it would look pretty on a counter. (Though it is bulkier than the others and would take up more space.)
Other: Cord doesn’t wrap out of site easily.

KitchenAid blender with homemade almond butter in it
Test #1: Almond Butter: 3.5/5

At 1 minute 30 seconds, it was a visible nut butter consistency. We kept blending an additional 45 seconds to get it creamier. Toward the end, it was splattering on the sides and lid due to the way the blades are designed, requiring more scraping and cleaning. Ended up not quite as drippy as Vitamix, but very smooth. Was the fastest to make nut butter, but it won’t ever get quite as liquidy as the other two because of the design of the container and blades (and the very broad base).

Test #2: Cashew Milk: 4.5/5

Had a few specks of pulp remaining when pouring through a fine mesh strainer, but it did produce a smooth cashew milk.

Test# 3: Nice Cream: 4.5/5

It definitely did the best job in terms of texture — and with no apparent risk of overheating. The texture was whipped. The only downside is that the tamper is too short/stubby to reach the corners, which requires you to stop and scrape down the sides with a rubber spatula a few times to get it fully whipped.

Test #4: Oat Flour: 3/5

Pulse is not as powerful. At 10 pulses, it resembled a meal, but not a flour texture. With further blending, it did make oat flour, but it was slightly more coarse and less powdery than the other two blenders. In our experience, would not be the best option if you are going to be making lots of flours.

Test #5: Romesco Sauce: 4/5

Took about 45 seconds to blend, but it needed about 15 seconds more to get it creamier. The final result was a sauce consistency that is creamier than the Blendtec, but it was not completely smooth and had visible chunks of nuts.

Test #6: Smoothie Bowl: 3.5/5

Took 4 minutes total to blend. Making a single smoothie bowl is difficult due to the small volume (ingredients don’t occupy enough space in the large container to blend easily). Due to the wide base and blunted edge on the tamper, you still have to take the lid off and agitate to get it mixing. Had to add a little more milk to get it going. Even when it did mix, it left some visible chunky bits.

KitchenAid Overall Score: 53.25/65

Pros:
  • Longest warranty
  • Visually appealing
  • Very sturdy

Cons:

  • Heavy to lift (21 pounds)
  • Wide base
  • Underwhelmed by the tamper design; has a tamper, but the blunted edge makes it difficult to stir with
  • Pretty loud when blending on the highest setting

#3: Blendtec Professional 750 Blender with Wildside+ Jar (90 oz)

Blendtec professional 750 blender as part of our unbiased review of the best blenders in 2019

Cost: $600
Weight: 11 pounds
Warranty: 8 years
Motor speed: 2 Peak HP
Container size: 90 ounces
Maximum capacity: 36 ounces

Top down shot of the Blendtec Professional series blender

Noise: 4/5 – when tested with soapy water, it was louder than the Vitamix, but not as loud as the KitchenAid. However, when blending the romesco sauce on high (smaller volume), it was extremely loud and hurt our ears.
Ease of use: 3.75/5 – there is no crank dial so increasing/decreasing the speed while blending is more of a challenge (it’s a + and – button, which is not very intuitive). We also didn’t like how the machine automatically turns off at the 55 second-mark of blending (we had to keep turning it on again), and the pulse only operates at a high power. We did like, however, that it has settings, especially if you’re the type of person who likes to hit a button and walk away.
Security of lid: 3.5/5 – the lid does seal, but not very well. Almost feels like you need to hold it down during blending to prevent spilling.
Sturdiness: 3.75/5 – least sturdy of the three considering how the container fits on the base. The container seems easy to knock off the base.
Spout pour-ability: 5/5 – most precise to pour due to the wide container and sharp corners (easy to pour from any angle into just about any container).
Ease of cleaning: 4.5/5 – because the lid is shallow, it is easy to clean. There aren’t a lot of cracks that stuff can hide in. Also, because there are only two prongs on the blade, it is easy to get things out from underneath. One downside is that stuff can get stuck in the handle, which can be difficult to get fully clean.
Esthetics: 4/5 – looks more industrial, but it is the most compact in size if you have a small space.
Other: Annoying that it doesn’t have a tamper. Says it doesn’t need one, but we found it really does unless you are only making soups and smoothies.

Blendtec with homemade almond butter in it
Test #1: Almond Butter: 4/5

Had to scrape down at about 30 seconds because it stopped blending. Blender kept kicking the mixture on the sides, and since there is no tamper, you can’t easily get it moving again. On a lower setting, it did work better. Took 5 minutes 15 seconds total. Very drippy and quite smooth. Produced a nice nut butter, but took a lot of babysitting the machine, scraping down the sides, and adjusting the speed.

Test #2: Cashew Milk: 4/5

When you put it on a speed instead of a pre-set, it stops after about 55 seconds. Had the most pulp of the three blenders but still only a small amount (about 1/8 tsp total). Would recommend straining as you will have bits of cashew in your milk otherwise.

Test# 3: Nice Cream: 2.5/5

Because there is no tamper, it is extremely frustrating to try to make nice cream. You have to continuously take off the lid and stir with a rubber spatula. Or you would have to add so much liquid that it would no longer be the consistency of nice cream.

Test #4: Oat Flour: 5/5

Worked well and only took 10 pulses.

Test #5: Romesco Sauce: 3.5/5

Took 1 minute to get it to a sauce. While we were able to get it to a sauce consistency, there were visible chunks of almond and garlic. Because of the wide base, additional blending won’t get it completely creamy at the quantity specified in the recipe (too wide of container).

Test #6: Smoothie Bowl: 3.25/5

Had to stop 5 times to mix and a total of 3 ½ minutes to blend. Even after getting the consistency right, there were still a few visible chunks of fruit. You have to add more liquid than you would if you had a blender with a tamper.

Blendtec Overall Score: 50.75/65

Pros:
  • Settings are nice
  • Easy to clean
  • Compact
  • Pretty powerful

Cons:

  • Needs a tamper to be more versatile
  • Pricey
  • Lid doesn’t feel secure

We hope you found this review helpful!

Do you have a favorite blender? Want to see us review other products? Let us know in the comments!


Vitamix Tips

In our experience, the following tips work best to help prevent a Vitamix from overheating. Admittedly, we wish this wasn’t an issue at all (our ideal blender would be the design of a Vitamix with the powerful, reliable motor of the KitchenAid). But because it is the best overall performing blender, we find it’s best when used with this set of tips / tricks in mind:

  • If you smell the Vitamix overheating (for us, it was a burnt plastic smell), turn it off, let it rest for a few minutes, then try again. Frustrating, we know — but it seems to happen very infrequently when it’s used properly.
  • Avoid leaving the motor running for too long (in our experience about 5 minutes) which can cause it to overheat. We found this to be true when trying to blend coconut butter on a medium speed setting for 4-5 minutes (it just turned off and started smoking).
  • Avoid adding large chunks of frozen ingredients, like bananas and whole pieces of fruit, especially when blending into smoothie bowls and nice cream. The Vitamix benefits from a little liquid and/or the fruit being chopped up into smaller pieces before blending.
  • Avoid adding large quantities of difficult-to-blend ingredients like dates and thick batters (e.g. date brownies, date caramel, etc.). If you are blending tough ingredients, blend in short bursts and avoid running the motor for long periods of time (4-5+ minutes). Alternatively, we recommend using a food processor for difficult tasks such as these.
  • Don’t overwhelm the motor by pushing down too frequently or forcefully on ingredients with the tamper, especially with thick / difficult ingredients like dates and large chunks of frozen bananas.
  • When making nice cream, it’s best to use small pieces of bananas (or other fruit) vs. large chunks to avoid overheating. When blending, start on the lowest speed for a few seconds, then switch to a high speed and using the tamper to swiftly press down and make nice cream. The key in our experience is: Small pieces of fruit (that are slightly thawed), try and make it as quickly as possible using the tamper and high speed, and turn off the blender if it smells like it’s overheating.
  • If the Vitamix overheats (shuts off, emits smoke, smells like burnt plastic), shut it off, unplug it, and let it cool down for at least 10 minutes, if not 45 minutes. Then try again.

Curious what other products we’ve reviewed? Check out our:

NUT & SEED BUTTER REVIEWS

SUPERFOOD REVIEWS

PROTEIN POWDERS & BAR REVIEWS

Reader Interactions

Comments

  1. Leticia says

    Very helpful review, thank you. I’m really torn as there are so many options out there but a lack of comprehensive unbiased reviews. We currently have a ‘cheap’ blender and I’m overwhelmed with the various options that are now out there. This is a gift for a pivotal wedding anniversary and I just don’t know what to get.

    To complicate matters, I’ve been suggested to take a look at Zwilling Enfingy from a friend who works at Zwilling and another friend who swears by their Pampered Chef Deluxe Cooking Blender. There seem to be far fewer videos or reviews comparing these options.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerSupport @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing, Leticia! We aren’t familiar with those two so we can’t weigh in on them, unfortunately!

  2. Caroline says

    I could be wrong here, but I remember when my parents first got a VitaMix (8 years ago maybe?) that part of the cool thing about it was that you could make heated soups in it because after a certain amount of time it would actually heat your food. That makes it sound like the “overheating” issue is actually an intentional part of the design of it. Like I said, I could be wrong but I do remember when my parents got a model we made heated soup in it! We found the recipe in the VitaMix cookbook that it came with!

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerSupport @ Minimalist Baker says

      Hi Caroline, yes, it can do that! By overheating though, we are referring to the motor overheating and turning off.

  3. calgal says

    Cannot agree with this more! I feel bad for people who buy the shorter model Vitamix from Costco and don’t understand what all the hype is about. The shorter pitchers just DO NOT compare to the taller 5200 model. I’ve had both and there is no comparison. The tall pitcher blends everything smoother and you can make much smaller quantities than with the shorter pitcher. I was so disappointed and now I get why some people don’t like Vitamix if they’ve only ever had that one. I’ve also had Blendtec and was so annoying to have to stop it to scrape down the sides when making banana ice cream or anything really thick. I don’t want to have to buy a second jar, why would I when Vitamix does it all? Can’t wait for more reviews!

  4. Robert says

    Hi. I’m curious – what were the other models of vitamix that you were not so impressed by? Any specific reasons? Thank you.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Hi there. We didn’t test ALL Vitamix models, only the 5200 because the tall and skinny base allows for both small and large volumes of foods (one of the features that gives it a distinct edge over other models). However, the review of the Vitamix speaks to most of their model as the main variable is the container size.

  5. Helen says

    Great review! Have you ever tried using the kitchenaid tamper in the blendtec? It looks as though the shape of it would fit through the blendtec lid and be safe distance from the blades.

  6. Manon says

    Thanks for sharing such an extensive review!
    It so useful.

    But as I move into my first real home by myself I cannot really afford a $400 blender (yet).

    Have you made a review of cheaper blenders by any chance? Any you would recommend?
    Something to start off and be able to work those fantastic recipes you share with us!

  7. Katherine says

    Great review! Not sure why you didn’t mention Vitamix’s problem with the shredded Teflon in whatever you are making? Unless you buy one after 2015 and even then there have been reports of it, you can bet you will find little black specks. When I came across an article last month I instantly tested mine to see if it was having the problem. And sure enough- I blended water for 45 sec, poured it into a white coffee mug and there were many little specks. My heart sank because I’ve been feeding smoothies to my children for the past 8 years with these flakes. Vitamix had a window where they would replace the pitchers , they stated Teflon was inert and thus posed no health risk and have said they have fixed the problem but that’s not good enough for me. I tossed the whole blender in the trash. Spent 24 hours in deep despair over the worry of if I have caused health problems to my child. No, I’m sorry, I will not try my luck with Vitamix again- I don’t care how amazing it is. I will try Blendtec for a replacement. I’m also upset that didn’t even email all their customers a warning about the problem or at least not me. I purchased mine directly from them in 2012 and I never received any notice about the issue. If it wasn’t for the recent law suit over this I might not have ever known. ?

    • Katherine says

      Well, I called Vita mix and I expressed my sadness and disappointment. She listened as I wept and shared the entire story! She assured me my canister was not part of the recall and the specks were most likely bearing grease that had dried up. Regardless , who wants to digest either?? I did go ahead and purchase a new model and will test to make sure no specks- if so back it goes.

  8. Sandra Sauls says

    I have a vitamin super 5000 & it can handle anything. I just wish it fit under the counter. It’s probably 20years old-a worthwhile investment!

  9. Randy says

    Your dedication and passion for healthy recipes and information is what caught my eye when my wife and I started a plant-based challenge for a month and ended up adopting it as a part of our lives a year ago. Mainly because of your recipes and information. If it wasn’t for you, I honestly don’t think I could have done it because I simply didn’t know eating healthy could taste so dang good!

    This review is exactly the reason you are the best! We’ve owned a Blendtec for over 10 years (also a compelling Costco demonstration). They were in a lawsuit a few years ago with Vitamix over the square container shape, which they claim Vitamix copied. The concept is that unlike a traditional round-shaped blender container, the square shape helps create vortexes that keep mixing the contents. They ended up winning the lawsuit and even gave away new containers to customers to celebrate their victory over Vitamix.

    Having said that, I would completely agree with your review about Blendtec. Great for soups, hot sauces, things that have a lot of liquid. It’s powerful, and can easily work its way through thicker sauces and spreads, but it suffers from cavitation and that is the bane of the Blendtec, in my opinion. It’s frustrating to use and very, very noisy. Seriously loud to the point that you wonder if you’re contributing to hearing loss. But, as others have pointed out, their customer service is unparalleled. I’ve had issues with two of my containers and after a quick phone call where they listened to it running (empty) diagnosed that it was the bearings and sent out two new containers. I hate jumping ship, but when this one gives up the ghost, I’ll definitely be looking at the Vitamix.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerSupport @ Minimalist Baker says

      Aw, thanks so much for your kind words, Randy! We are so glad you have enjoyed and found our recipes and review helpful. Thanks so much for sharing!

  10. Natalie says

    Thanks for the info. I just ordered the Vitamix 750 Pro as I found it on sale for slightly less than the 5200. I’m hopeful the upgraded model won’t have an overheating issues. It does also come with the low-profile pitcher.

  11. Tomi says

    Your review was very interesting. We all have our personal favorites, that is for sure!

    I have owned Blendtec (2 different models), and currently VitaMix after reading people’s raves about them. I just cannot like the VitaMix. Maybe it is the newer model, but I have tried to love it, and just don’t. It is loud, the container is difficult to clean, they don’t have any smaller containers that do the job (I purchased the cup-type smaller containers and they are worthless), the tamper is not always sufficient to push the food down, and so it sits as a very expensive counter ornament. I have had it about a year, and it is going back to Costco. I used my Blendtec almost daily. They have accessory jars that are smaller, usually come with a long-handled spatula-type scrapper, and make the best nut butter consistencies, and have the twister capability so a tamper is not necessary. I have never cut myself on the blades cleaning it, and it is so much easier to get food from under the blades than the VitaMix. I think if you compare the blenders with the accessory jars, you might find the Blendtec equal to the tasks.

    I have owned the Blendtec Total Blender and model 725. I currently have the VitaMix Venturist. It also has the wide bottom like the Blendtec, but seems much heavier and clunky. I guess personal preferences will always determine which blender we prefer, and recommend. Thank you again for your unbiased review. It really was an interesting read.

      • Theresa says

        I also have a BlendTec and it is absolutely the best for nut butter. No need to go past the 50 second limit. It is smooth and warm within that short time. no Tamper needed. I make it in the twister jar which is a wonderful option and worth every penny. One main reason I went for the BlendTec is that it fits on my counter underneath the upper cupboard.

  12. mailoha says

    what do you think of the new vitamix (A3500 Ascent Series) compared to the 5200 that you include in this review? thanks!

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerSupport @ Minimalist Baker says

      Hi Mailoha, we chose to test the 5200 because of the smaller base. We find that most of the Vitamix models have a larger base which means you have to add more volume to get them to blend. The 5200 is more versatile, in our opinion.

  13. Luisa says

    Do you have any reviews for smaller blenders? I’m about to buy something for my dressings because it’s usually not enough for the vita mix and I don’t wanna make huge batches. I’m thinking Nutrabullet size

  14. CM says

    Thanks for the in-depth review!! Well done. Will you please consider doing a comparison with Breville’s newest blender, the Super Q? Would love to see how it stacks up to the Vitamix.

  15. Robin says

    I was intrigued with your perspective on all three blenders. Having owned all three over the years: I first owned a Vitamix until it literally stopped working. Knowing that it was slowly dying and long exceeded its warranty, I purchased a Blendtec due to the great price point and a convincing demonstration at Costco at the time. My issue with the Blendtec was the jars would start to leak an oily-like substance on the bottom; despite that, their customer service was one of the BEST and would quickly replace my jar. I’m talking 7 years ago and I’m sure they have improved to keep up with its competitors. I did a lot of plant-base recipe testing for a friend and was introduced to Kitchen Aid blender; got mine at a discounted rate at the time. I wondered why you didn’t mention the cleaning setting on the Kitchen Aid Pro Blender. I use my Kitchen Aid Pro blender EVERY DAY. Their customer service is decent. I experienced an issue with my blender and they replaced it quickly with a new blender. BOTTOM LINE: In terms of cleaning. Why would anyone stick their hand inside of any blender to clean without protecting one’s hands? All of these blender jars are best kept clean by using a little white vinegar in water and/or baking soda and letting them soak for a bit. Everything comes out just fine. No scrubbing needed. *Watch out for the volcano effect when mixing baking soda with vinegar and water. BTW, the jars are better preserved and protected by small scratches by using a soft sponge, not a brush. Use the aforementioned products and you won’t ever need a brush. Lastly, I have enjoyed making a few of your dessert recipes.

  16. TriciaVDP says

    Please include the Ninja Blender / Processor. I heard it’s also very good but I wanna know how it compares to other top-notch brands. Thanks!

  17. Ann Thrash-Trumbo says

    Great review! I’ve used the Vitamix quite a bit in the vegan restaurant I used to manage (35+ years ago!). I liked the easy way it handled heavy loads, and we worked them (we had more than one) heavily. We would have to replace the gear mechanism at the bottom of the blender cup! Excellent machine.

    We also used a Bosch Kitchen Machine. It is really designed for home use, not restaurant. In my opinion it blends more smoothly than the Vitamix but will not handle the heavy loads that a Vitamix can. I have had one for 30 years in my home and I love it. I’ve sent it for repair 3 times. The last time I was told not to send it in again, that it was just too old to repair. That was 4 years ago and it’s still going strong. Are you familiar with that machine?

  18. Dave says

    You’ll have to pry my Vitamix out of my dead hands.

    What I’m having problems with is finding a good food processor if equal quality to replace my very old and breaking Kitchen Aid food processor.

    Maybe you could make a test comparison for a good food processor because what I’ve read is that Kitchen Aid is not what it used to be. Sad.

    Thanks

  19. Hila says

    Thank you for making a non-sponsored review, especially when it comes from a very popular blogger.
    Like others, I have to include the Ninja blender + food processor system (I’m not sure what’s the model number in America, but it’s the one that comes with 3 different cups).
    In Israel where I live, the price difference between this and Vitamix is a few thousand Shekels (hundreds of dollars), so after reading raving reviews about it I purchased it about a year ago and so far it’s great. It makes things much easier because you can use the right tool for the right job. I’m making smoothies and smoothie bowls in the blender, flours in one of the cups and pastes/dips in the food processor. I have to say this the blender crushes the ice like crazy, so you can make frozen drinks easily.

    On an unrelated note – I wanted to sign up for the food photography school for a while, but it seems like you’re not open for new members at the moment. Will it change in the future? it’s something that I planned on for quite a while :(

  20. Steve Jones says

    Thanks for the comprehensive review and time you put into it. It reinforced my decision to buy my Vitamix 750 few years ago. I use it almost every day, it’s still going strong, and remains the best purchase I ever made for my kitchen. I noticed the model you used is an older one. The 750 has four food programmed settings (for smoothies, frozen desserts, soups and purées) and one for self-cleaning, which is quite a time-saver. After it runs its cleaning cycle, I almost never need to reach into the container to clean anything remaining. The 750 also has a lower, more-compact profile that easily fits under counters, unlike the older, tall models that usually don’t. In addition, my Vitamix has never overheated, so perhaps it’s just the model you tested. (I set the 750 on a program setting and walk away from it all the time and never had any problems.) Finally, for anyone who’s on the fence, Vitamix offers excellent customer service and they are NOT made in China, which is important to me.

    Anyway, I cannot say enough good things about my Vitamix. If you ever want to update your review, perhaps you can use one of the newer models (e.g., 750 or A3500).

    Since this is the first time I have left a comment here, I want to say thank you for all your wonder recipes! I have added many of them to my ever-growing (1,700+) vegan recipe database. I really enjoy your blog.

  21. Esther says

    Thanks for your reviews, Dana! Would like to also bring the Optimum 9400 to your attention. I bought it a few years ago, and never regret it. I use it every day. At first I was saving for a Vitamix, but after I compared these two, I choose to buy this one instead. It is just as the Vitamix, not the most prettiest device on your counter I think, but for me definately the best thing I spend my money on.
    Love your recepies! Love to get inspired! Greetings from the Netherlands!

  22. JJ says

    In my country Bledntec is 2 times cheaper than Vitamix. So I made tactical choice when I bought one = Buy tamper separately. Now it can do anything that vitamix. Only downsides are the loudness and that if you have too much liquid it doesn’t blend hardher pieces that are in, like dry fruits or seeds.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing, JJ! Agreed – the lack of tamper was one of the biggest downsides to a Blendtec. Glad you found a workaround!

  23. Sherrie Fontaine says

    This was very helpful. Could you review the Pampered Chef’s blender, the Deluxe Cooking Blender? I find ours is very comparable to these, PLUS ours makes jam/jelly, plus has a heated wash setting.

  24. Marinda says

    Thank you so much for this! It’s really useful, as I’ve been wanting to get a good blender and have been overwhelmed by the options. I’ve been using a mortar an pestle, haha! I was debating between getting a Cuisinart instead. I clicked on the link that you had imbedded in your article, and the prices are a lot lower than a blender. I’m assuming it’s better to get a high end Cuisinart than one that’s 100-some ? And if you had to chose between one or another (blender vs. Cuisniart) What would you recommend ? Probably an impossible question, but I’m not going to get both… I want to use it to make your bean burger recipees, soups, smoothies and maybe when I’m feeling motivated, a nut butter …

    I love all your recipees, and really appreciate this non-biased review !!

    All the best,

    Marinda

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing, Marinda!! I’d say it really depends on what you plan to use the machine for. A blender is best for: soups, smoothies, nut milks, and things that need to get really creamy. And food processors are better for things like nut butters, coconut butter, thick/sticky batters, hummus, dates, etc. Hope that helps!

      • Marinda says

        Wonderful, thanks! I think I’ll go for a blender than, and use me’ old mortar and pestle for the grinding ;) works pretty well, actually ! Can’t wait to try your bean burgers and blender required recipees !!
        Happy holidays from Granadá

      • Wendy says

        I have used my Breville food processor to make creamy soups for many years without a problem. I also use it to make cakes and muffins. I don’t yet own a blender but have been thinking about getting one. Your recommendations plus comments by others just have me overwhelmed by the choice but I do know a few people who have a Vitamix (and recommend them) mainly for soups, plant-based milks and margaritas so I’d probably go for one of those. You mentioned in the review of the Vitamix that making the nice cream works best as a 2 person job and said there would be comments below the review about this but I can’t find them. Wondering what you meant.

    • BatSheva Drori says

      Thanks for your review. I’m not surprised at the results. I’ve been using Vitamix blenders for many years, already on my 3rd, and it’s our go to wedding gift for our kids. Right now I have the short wide 64oz one. Kind of on the fence about it. It doesn’t blend as well as the 5200, tall and thin version. I’d love you to do a review on that one too. When I called Vitamix about issues with blending nut butters they said I’ve got to add bigger amounts in order to get the consistency I want. That is a bummer. But hands down, I’d choose Vitamix over all brands. For quality and they’ve got the best overall costomer service I’ve ever seen.

  25. Lola says

    This is a very timely post. My £30 Russell Hobbs blender is on its last legs after 10 years. It was not perfect but it served well. However any of the above in the UK trade at £500+ which is very expensive, for me anyway. I am choosing between Phillips Mini Processor and Blender set or I might shell out and go for a Ninja set. At £150 that will be an investment!

  26. Y. says

    I enjoyed the Review – thanks! We have the larger Vitamix – the professional Series 750. its larger but we have never had problems of the container being too bis to bring the mix to the correct consistence. It has a speed dial and a programs dial and I do not think twice about leaving it to blend on it’s own. We have never encountered overheating though I am not sure how often we’ve used it for over 5 minutes. Since it’s the professional model the motor may be larger which would support this. You can get a smaller container for it and a blade for dry blending (flower).
    Best, Y.

  27. Jill says

    We absolutely love our Vitamix! Have had it for over 10 years, and never an issue – altho I support Dana’s comments, such as 1. add liquid 2. don’t run on high too long 3. cut up frozen items.
    I’ve never tried the others mentioned; just glad her study confirms why we love VM!
    And we have the 5000 series with the tall slender container, also…

  28. Robert says

    Been using Vitamix for years. Couple points:
    1. Your criticism of “nice cream” capability is on spot. We make it work by blending all ingredients like nuts and water and seasonings and unfrozen items first. Then we add the frozen bananas and other frozen ingredients at the last minute, using the tamper to shove them in quickly, and then within 30-60 seconds shut it down. That way, we get smooth bases and smooth enough ice cream without overheating. If you have a crowd and want to make multiple batches, it gets tricky, but as long as you really minimize the exposure time at high torque, it can work. But I concur with your comments on this aspect, and a stronger motor would be nice.
    2. I don’t understand your criticism of the cleaning aspect. Following the manufacturer’s instructions to add some water and turn it on briefly to clean it seems to work very well for us. I never clean the blades manually. I do sometimes wipe the insides of the container manually, at least in the upper area where water circulation is reduced.

    Nice review!

  29. Saras Kathleen says

    Hello and thank you for the review! I’m curious about the Ace blender made by the Instant Pot brand. Would love to see a review of it if you’re drawn to one.

  30. Kristin says

    I would consider contacting Vitamix about a defective unit if it seems to overheat that easily. I worked at an extremely busy(literal bus loads of tourists) shop for six years with three Vitamixes, used for hard ice cream milkshakes, smoothies, blended coffee, etc. We weren’t kind to the machines, and regularly would pack them to their 64 ounce capacity. We’d wear out the gear mechanism and ball bearings on the base.
    Your review is awesome, and solidified my Vitamix love. Hoping to finally get one this coming year!

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks, Kristin! I’ve owned two Vitamixes now and they both seem to be sensitive in that regard. It may be a bum motor, or it may just need breaking in. Either way, thanks for sharing!

      • P. says

        Overheating tends to happen if the machine is not run on high. The cooling fan kicks on once the machine is on high, that’s the reason most vitamix recipes have you ramp up from low to high in the first few seconds. Contrary to popular belief, you’re not overworking the machine by running it on high as it is meant to be a workhorse.

  31. Nanda says

    I believe that Vitamix is the best but I’m surprised you didn’t include how hard it is to scrape everything out of the container while pouring. I bought a narrow spatula specifically for that purpose, but even still I feel like so much food gets left on the inside at the end. Why can’t Vitamix have smooth sides like Blendtec? *Sigh*

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      haha it can be! I much preferred the Blendtec in terms of scraping things out easily. No blender is perfect! I found myself wanting the power of the Kitchenaid, the container of the Blendtec, and the functionality of the Vitamix!

  32. Lynne says

    Interesting. I have had a VitaMix for a number of years now, and have never had the overheating issue. I have never tried making coconut butter, but make soup quite frequently, and run it on high for 5-6 minutes with no burning smell. I also have the dry mix container, so will use that per another reader’s suggestion if I ever want to try coconut butter.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing! We definitely had a dry container for the coconut butter – that didn’t seem to be the issue. The Vitamix still took the prize, but admittedly sometimes it’s a love-hate relationship.

  33. Natalie says

    Such an interesting review. Thank you! The best trick I have found for making nice cream is to take the bananas out 10 minutes before you want them to let them thaw just a tiny bit. Then you can get a great nice cream even with whole bananas in the Vitamix.

  34. Susan Ciaburro says

    I’m sorry but my Vitamix has never EVER overheated even with large chunks of frozen fruits or almonds or dates. Or blending for long time as with making soup.

    I think you just have bad luck with Vitamix.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      That would make two different machines with “bad luck” so I’m beginning to think they have major inconsistencies in their machines.

  35. Holly says

    Thank you so much for the in-depth blender review. I love my Vitamix. I bought a refurbished model years ago directly from Vitamix and it has been a much loved workhorse in my kitchen. It is still going strong after at least 8 years of nearly daily use. I have had it overheat only a few times. I did exactly what you suggested — turned it off and let it cool down — but it makes your heart beat a little faster thinking you just killed such an expensive machine.
    Your next assignment, should you choose to accept it, is a side-by-side comparison of immersion blenders. The reviews are all over the place. I would definitely trust yours.

  36. Kate Marchand says

    So, I have had my Vitamix overheat when blending thick recipes like the above review described. I actually thought I broke my Vitamix until I called their help line (which is great btw!). Apparently, the fans do not kick on to cool the motor until you’re on the “10” speed setting. If you throw it in turbo it will actually do a better job of avoiding overheating quickly. Hope this helps others who have run into a similar issue!

  37. DH says

    Excellent review and kind of proud that the Vitamix won, lol! Cause that’s what we have.

    The overheating is annoying for sure, we’ve pretty much used all your tips listed above to avoid it too. My husband also has this special technique when it’s close to overheating of holding the container near the blender (like close to being ‘on’ the blender so it thinks it’s there, but not ‘on’ enough that the blade starts touching the gear or turning) and then turning the machine on high – this way it’s cooling itself with it’s internal fan. This will help it cool down really fast.

    We’ve also used my blow dryer on the cool setting to cool it down faster if we need to keep making something!

  38. Ron Reed says

    Always enjoy your articles and wanted to add my 2 cents.

    My kids got me the Ninja Mega Kitchen Blender System with Food Processor ($159.99) a couple of Christmases ago and it’s been great. We’ve put it through some tough workouts and it performs without flaw. It handles ice almost like it was butter. Not sure how it compares to the Vitamix or the others, but for the price I don’t know how you can beat it.

    If you still have any money left, give one a try. I’d love your opinion on it!

    -Ron in Texas

  39. Judy says

    I wish you would have done a Ninja Chef review as well! I really think it’s on par with these others, yet it’s less than half the price! I’ve had mine for several years and it’s done fantastic, even for coconut butter and banana nice cream and such, and it will shut off if it gets overheated, before it is hot enough to start smelling.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing! We’ve tested Ninjas before in the past and haven’t been too impressed. But perhaps they’ve upped their game in recent years!

  40. Leah says

    So happy to hear that it’s not just me when my Vitamix doesn’t want to mix. Still love it but it does overheat at times. Thanks for the helpful advice.

  41. lane says

    i bought a blendtec a few years ago and i hate it. replacing it hasn’t been the highest on my list since then buy i fully intend to get a vitamix in the next few months. the lid literally flies off if something frozen bounces up hits it the right way, it’s impossible to make any small amount of sauce/butter/dough because of the sheer amount of liquid required to blend and requires a lot more attention than any other blender i have ever used. the easy clean up does not make up for any of this; i don’t recommend!!

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Ha! I agree – blendtec has its downsides. It is a powerful blender, but the design / functionality doesn’t quite compare to Vitamix. The two things I do like about Blendtec is the wide base (Vitamix can be quite narrow, depending on the model) and the four corners that make natural spouts and are great for pouring.

  42. Isabelle Gosselin says

    Thank you Dana for this very interesting review. Having had a Vitamix for 12 years, I am very happy to see that it took first place. My first Vitamix broke down (can’t remember what it was) one month before the warranty ended, and the company sent me a new one right away, no question asked. Then I replaced the container some 4 years later. I use it everyday, and I find it’s a workhorse. I have it do very hard things for me, for instance blend 1 cup big frozen strawberries with 4 pretty-dry dates, no water, and purée it in a smooth, velvety topping for a cheesecake. I push with the tamper and even though I can hear that it works real hard, I get the job done each time. It’s 5 years old, and works like a new. I’m very very happy with my purchase. BTW, I clean it by having it run with hot soapy water 1 minute or so at full speed. No need to brush it!
    I love all of your vegan recipes. You’re my go-to resource when I want to try something new. I always check first if you have turned it into a recipe before trying someone else. Go girl go!

  43. Anna says

    This is a very useful review, Dana. I’m debating purchasing either a good blender or a food processor, however since I mainly want it for making coconut/almond butter I’m guessing I’d be better off with a food processor. Would you say based on your experience that 350 W power is enough to tackle coconut butter? The processors with higher power are the larger capacity and since I don’t have tons of counter space I’d prefer something smaller.

  44. Jen Shelby says

    I love my vitamix, I also have the dry goods container and it is perfect for making coconut butter! It probably takes about 60 seconds and is super creamy!

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing! Ours couldn’t quite get it creamy without overheating. But perhaps we need to try it again!

      • Lien says

        Perhaps you already know this, but others may not: the thing with coconut butter is that the container needs to perfectly dry, otherwise you (may) get more of a coconut flour/powder…

        • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

          Thanks for sharing! I don’t think that was the issue. Coconut butter is just difficult to get really smooth.

  45. Susan says

    I’ve had my Vitamix 5200 for about 7 years and I use it every day–sometimes 2 and 3 times. I have never had a problem with overheating. Sometimes I make soups and let it run until steam comes out of the lid and never has it overheated on me. Of course, now that I have said that it will most likely overheat the very next time I use it!
    The only other high speed blender I have used is the Ninja and it was no comparison. And the single serve little ones work but never will things get as smooth.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      I agree, the Ninja was very underwhelming, which is why we didn’t it in this review. Thanks for sharing your experience, Susan!

  46. Nikki says

    I love your reviews and how honest and unbiased they are. I’m in the market for a new blender and will definitely be taking this new information into account. Thank you!

  47. Judy says

    Thanks for this rating. Nice to get the comparison! Have been using a Blendtec for 7 years, and it’s my right hand in the kitchen. But I do nice cream in the food processor.

    And thanks, as always, for your reliably good recipes and input. Grateful.

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Thanks for sharing, Judy!! We loved our Blendtec the last few years, but ultimately think the Vitamix has a slight edge overall. xo!

  48. Alyssa says

    The Blendtec has a much less expensive version (~$300) that performs just as well as the high end. It also has multiple jar options including the Twister Jar that would’ve been best for nice cream. One feature that you didn’t mention was that the blades will not cut you when washing the inside and getting anything out from under them. This is one of the best features! The Blendtec can be cleaned by putting a bit of water and a drop of dish soap and turning it on – even cleans the lid. It is definitely loud, but I believe it is a superior professional quality blender for home use. If loaded in the correct order (liquid first) you really don’t need a tamper. I have experience using Vitamix as well and would highly recommend the Blendtec with more than 1200 uses logged on ours.

  49. Valerie says

    I have a Blendtec (for a couple years now) and use their Twister Jar for nut butters, sauces and salad dressings. It works much better for all but one of the food types you tested because of the narrowness of the jar and the lid “fins” that scrap the side of the jar. When I purchased the unit, I waited for seasonal specials and was able to get the specialized jar included in my purchase. FYI.

Leave A Reply