Best Moringa Powders Review

GFVGVDFNS

Assortment of moringa powder brands for our review of the best ones

Known as “the miracle tree,” moringa is poised to be the next trendy superfood. But trends aside, we’re convinced it’s one seriously magical, nutrient-dense plant, and we’re so excited to share more about which brands we’re loving and how we’re putting it to use.

One glance and whiff of this vibrant green, grassy herb and we immediately thought of our beloved morning matcha latte, but without the caffeine (try our Caffeine-Free “Matcha” recipe!) and with arguably even more health benefits (more on that later). Count us in!

What is Moringa?

“The miracle tree,” moringa oleifera, is native to India, but also grows in Asia, Africa, and South America and has been used around the world for centuries to treat conditions such as anemia, anxiety, skin infections, bronchitis, and more.

Health Benefits of Moringa

Moringa is rich in nutrients such as beta carotene, vitamin C, calcium, potassium, iron, protein, and a variety of antioxidants. Some claim it is “the most nutrient-rich plant yet discovered.”

In addition to its stellar nutritional profile, moringa is thought to have anti-ulcer, anti-inflammatory, anti-microbial, anti-hyperglycemic, antioxidant, and anti-cancer properties.

Research on humans supports claims that moringa leaf powder may help those with type 2 diabetes, high cholesterol, and/or low antioxidant status. And no adverse effects were reported.

Note: Though we didn’t come across any risks associated with consuming moringa, we recommend checking with your doctor before trying it if you are taking any medications or have any concerns. We should also note that consuming large quantities of moringa can upset the digestive system as it’s quite potent. We recommend starting with a 1/2-tsp serving and working your way up.

Best Moringa Brands

Since not all moringa powders are of the same quality, we did a formal, side-by-side review of some of the most popular and high-quality brands of moringa powder on the market.

Our goal was to see which brands delivered on color, smell, taste, texture, and overall quality. We wanted to see which brands stood out and which ones weren’t worth the hype in order to save you the time and money of doing the research yourself.

The Ground Rules

  • We tested 10 brands of moringa powder. Most were purchased from Amazon (for accessibility’s sake) and a few were from local health food stores and herb shops.
  • This review is not sponsored in any way. We were not given free product or compensated for any of our reviews, and we had no contact with any of these brands prior to reviewing the product.
  • We selected brands that were organic and/or seemed to be high-quality.
  • We tried to be as unbiased and objective as possible when reviewing.
  • We graded the powders on a scale of 1-5 (1 being poor, 5 being excellent) on:
    • Color vibrancy/texture
    • Smell
    • Flavor
    • Overall thoughts
  • For consumer awareness, we also examined:
    • Cost per ounce (US $) — subject to variability
    • Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.)
    • Location of origin
    • Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.)
    • If we would repurchase

Results

Three jars of moringa for our review of the best brands of moringa powder

First place: Miracle Garden Texas Moringa (our favorite!)
Second place: Sun Potion Moringa Leaf Powder (second favorite, but amazing quality and flavor!)
Third place: Organic Vega Moringa Leaf Powder (second runner up – would still highly recommend!)
Fourth place: Kiva Moringa Leaf Powder
Fifth place: MRM Raw Organic Moringa Leaf Powder
Sixth place: Zokiva Moringa Oleifera Leaf Powder
Seventh place: Organic Traditions Moringa Leaf Powder
Eighth place: Feel Good Organic Moringa Leaf Powder
Ninth place: Global Moringa Moringa Powder
Tenth place: Sunfood Organic Moringa Powder

The Review

Jar and spoonful of Miracle Garden moringa powder for our top rated moringa powder

#1: Miracle Garden Texas Moringa

Color vibrancy/texture: 5 – bright green, vibrant with a yellow-green hue — very fine powder.
Smell: 5 – smells similar to matcha — grassy and earthy with a bit of spice.
Flavor: 5 – subtly grassy, a little bit of spice / bitterness, fresh — similar to matcha!
Overall thoughts: This is the first moringa powder I tried and I still love it. I love that it’s responsibly grown stateside and is high quality. The vibrant green color / enjoyable flavor has me hooked.
Approximate cost per ounce: $5.00
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Unknown
Location of origin: Texas
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Small business run by an expert on moringa

Overall score: 15/15
Would we repurchase? Yes

Spoonful and jar of Sun Potion Moringa Powder for our review of the best moringa powder brands

#2: Sun Potion Moringa Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 4.5 – very fine powder. Green with no brown hue. Similar hue to matcha. Not as vibrant as Organic Veda or Texas Moringa.
Smell: 5 – very subtle, grassy, herby, no bitterness on the nose.
Flavor: 5 – really great — subtle, tastes herbal and matcha-like. Minimal bitterness like some of the herbal brands. Overall really pleasant!
Overall thoughts: I feel like this would be an ideal starter for someone trying moringa. It’s fresh, vibrant, good quality, and not overwhelming in bitterness or grassiness! Highly recommend.
Approximate cost per ounce: $7.50
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: India
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Raw, Shade dried, Never freeze-dried, FDA approved facility, Strict GMP guidelines

Overall score: 14.5/15
Would we repurchase? Yes

Jar and spoonful of Organic Veda moringa powder for our review of the best brands

#3: Organic Vega Moringa Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 5 – vibrant green, looks very similar to matcha, no imperfections, very fine texture.
Smell: 4 – smells a bit pungent, grassy, and herby.
Flavor: 3.75 – it’s quite pungent and hits you on the nose. Sweet on the front, bitter / spicy on the end. I suspect this is because it’s very potent and high quality. So I’d recommend using a little less with this one and working your way up for best results.
Overall thoughts: This is an obviously very high-quality brand, and the vibrant color shows that. However, because of that, the flavor is a bit bold. Not the best option for those just starting out with moringa.
Approximate cost per ounce: $2.00
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic
Location of origin: India
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Raw, No third-party sourcing, GMP certified facility, FDA-approved facility, Organic facility, “Premium grade”

Overall score: 12.75/15
Would we repurchase? Yes

Package and spoonful of Kiva Moringa powder for our review of the best moringa powder brands

#4: Kiva Moringa Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 4.5 – vibrant green hue — little to no yellow. No brown. Little flecks of leaf visible, so not as fine as others, but also not off-putting.
Smell: 4 – similar to Zokiva, somehow it smells kind of like paint? But not as intense. Definitely still herbal / grassy. No bitterness on the nose.
Flavor: 4 – pretty pleasant but definitely bitter on the end. The little bit of texture does come through as well — it’s not as fine as the others.
Overall thoughts: I think this is a high-quality brand. I like that it’s organic. I think it could be a little more finely ground. Good overall. I would recommend this one but it isn’t my top choice.
Approximate cost per ounce: $0.94
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: India
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Raw, Hand harvested, Processed at low temperature, Single source farm, Fair trade

Overall score: 12.5/15
Would we repurchase? Yes

Bag and spoonful of MRM Superfoods Moringa Powder for our review of the best moringa brands

#5: MRM Raw Organic Moringa Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 4.5 – pretty vibrant green but with a slight yellow hue. Pretty fine texture, only a few visible flecks.
Smell: 4 – strong smell, herby, grassy, apparent bitterness.
Flavor: 3 – meh. It tastes like moringa, but there’s a little gritty texture and it’s noticeably bitter — more so than the other brands.
Overall thoughts: I think it’s decently high quality, but other brands in this review have finer texture, more vibrant color, and better flavor.
Approximate cost per ounce: $1.30
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: India
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): GMP certified facility, “Responsibly & ethically sourced”

Overall score: 11.5/15
Would we repurchase? No

Bag of Zokiva Moringa Powder for our review of the best brands of moringa powder

#6: Zokiva Moringa Oleifera Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 4 – pretty vibrant color — slightly brown / yellow in hue, but still pretty green. Fine in texture.
Smell: 3 – smells bitter and a bit like paint. Also grassy.
Flavor: 4 – neutral, grassy, a little bitter at the end. Pretty pleasant overall.
Overall thoughts: Seems to be a middle-of-the-road moringa. Pretty good quality, but not as impressive in color and flavor as other brands. Also, the smell is intense.
Approximate cost per ounce: $1.31
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: Unknown
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): None

Overall score: 11/15
Would we repurchase? No

Spoonful of Organic Traditions Moringa Powder for our unbiased review of moringa powder brands

#7: Organic Traditions Moringa Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 3 – brownish-green hue — slightly gritty, not as vibrant as the other brands
Smell: 4 – slightly sweet on the nose, a little bitterness, overall pleasant
Flavor: 3.75 – has a tea-like taste, not unlike matcha. However, it’s not as vibrant as the other brands and has a slight bitterness at the end.
Overall thoughts: Not bad, but it seems the production of the moringa powder has left it brown, which makes us think the potency is diminished. Not recommended.
Approximate cost per ounce: $2.64
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: Unknown
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Sustainably grown and harvested, Demeter biodynamic certified

Overall score: 10.75/15
Would we repurchase? No

Bag and spoonful of Feel Good Moringa Powder for our review of the best moringa brands

#8: Feel Good Organic Moringa Leaf Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 4.25 – pretty vibrant green but with yellow undertones — very slight specks of the leaf are unground.
Smell: 3.5 – not unpleasant, but also not pleasant. Quite herbal / aromatic. No apparent bitterness, but quite a strong smell.
Flavor: 3 – not unpleasant but also not good flavor. Quite grassy. Minimal bitterness. The texture is a little gritty.
Overall thoughts: I wouldn’t recommend this one, even though it’s organic and seems high quality. When it comes down to it, there are other brands in this review that have more vibrant color, finer texture, and better overall flavor.
Approximate cost per ounce: $2.00
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: India
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Raw, From small farms, NSF certified, GMP manufacturing, Harvested before nutrients are lost to the fruit

Overall score: 10.75/15
Would we repurchase? No

Bag and spoonful of Global Traditions Moringa powder for our review of moringa powder brands

#9: Global Moringa Moringa Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 3.25 – has visible specks of unground leaves — green but with a yellow/brown tint.
Smell: 4 – pretty pleasant on the nose. No bitterness. Herbal, similar to matcha.
Flavor: 2.5 – because it’s not a fine powder, it has a slight grittiness when drinking. The flavor isn’t bad, but it also isn’t vibrant. The texture throws us off.
Overall thoughts: I wouldn’t recommend this brand, not because it’s bad quality, but because it’s gritty and doesn’t blend well and the color is slightly brown.
Approximate cost per ounce: $1.71
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic
Location of origin: Ghana
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): Fair trade

Overall score: 9.75/15
Would we repurchase? No

Bag and spoonful of Sunfood Moringa Powder for our review of the top moringa brands

#10: Sunfood Organic Moringa Powder

Color vibrancy/texture: 2.5 – very brown / green with visible bits of unground leaf.
Smell: 3.5 – not overwhelming in aroma — grassy, herby, a little bitterness on the nose.
Flavor: 2.5 – grittiness, bitter on the palate, overall quite unpleasant.
Overall thoughts: The color is so off-putting and brown that we think it’s dried in a way that removes some of the nutrients. On top of that, the texture isn’t as fine as the others and the flavor isn’t great. Wouldn’t recommend.
Approximate cost per ounce: $2.00
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Location of origin: Unknown
Additional claims/perks (i.e. raw, fair trade, etc.): None

Overall score: 8.5/15
Would we repurchase? No


We hope you found this review helpful! We would happily recommend any of the top 5 brands, with the top 3 being our favorites.

Have you tried other moringa brands and enjoyed them? Want to see us review other products? Let us know in the comments!

Reader Interactions

Comments

  1. Sarah says

    You are so kind for sharing these with us, thank you!! Any way you could share a review on adaptogens next? It’s been hard to find a lot of food research out there!

  2. Alex says

    Purchased Miracle Garden Moringa based on your review that says its grown stateside. When it arrived it looked exactly the stuff that comes from india, green chalky powder with little taste. If you go to Miracle Garden’s website they say they source their moringa from India? Not grown in Texas. Is this a recent change?

  3. Vanessa says

    Thanks so much for this review! I would love if you could add a picture of the back/nutritional information on the products that you review. I purchased a moringa from Sprouts recently and it’s horrific LOL. Going to try the Miracle Gardens now. Thank you! :)

  4. Rae says

    Amazing review! I only have ever used the kuli kuli brand. I’m curious if anyone else here as ever used that one and how it compares? Since it’s literally the only thing I’ve ever used, it’s hard for me to know what’s “good” or “bad.” Either way, I’m going to make a latte out of it today and see how it tastes!

  5. Heidi says

    Curious as why you didn’t try Organic India brand. That one is avail on amazon and thrive, and is recommended by others. Thanks for reminding me about moringa! I’m adding it to my matcha lattes in the am, and having it at night with fresh almond milk and cardamom.

  6. Darshana says

    None of those moringa powders are available in the UK
    Wonder if you have had any more information on the ones on Amazon UK site
    If not it’s fine I have bought one for the moment
    Thank you for all the information and recipes lots of love and hard work that goes behind it

    • Avatar for Dana @ Minimalist BakerDana @ Minimalist Baker says

      Hi Darshana! I’m not familiar with moringa powders in other countries. But hopefully some of those brands are available?

  7. Christine Wohlleben says

    This was a fantastic post/ review thank you! There are so many brands out there. I was using one brand consistently for a couple weeks and ended up quite ill, but it was a pre-packaged “dose” from a specific company. It has scared me off of moringa since but I love your idea of a latte so next time I see the SunPotion one I am going to pick it up. Thanks again!

  8. Aliya says

    I’ve purchased the sunfoods brand of morniga powder, and the color was much more of a vibrant green than the one that’s pictured here! Maybe they’ve changed something or perhaps the batch was off…? Loved this post. All the information was helpful. Thanks

Leave A Reply