Plant-Based Protein Bar Review

GFVDF

Assortment of plant-based protein bars for our unbiased healthy protein bar review

There are times when you need something quick, easy, and portable to get you through to the next meal. We get it. And since you all enjoyed our protein powder reviews so much, we decided it was time to bring protein bars into the mix.

As with our unbiased protein powder reviews (vanilla, chocolate, and flavored), we did a formal, side-by-side review of a variety of plant-based protein bars on the market. Our goal was to see which protein bars delivered on taste and nutrition and which ones weren’t worth the hype, saving you the time and money of doing the research yourself!

THE GROUND RULES //

  • We tested 14 protein bars (and 4 honorable mentions). Of the 14 bars tested, all contain at least 8 grams of protein and fewer than 10 grams of sugar per bar. Honorable mentions were bars that did not meet these criteria but were uniquely beneficial in another way.
  • When possible, we included similar flavors from different brands to more accurately compare them head-to-head.
  • Some of the bars are available on Amazon and others were found from other online retailers or at health food stores.
  • This review is not sponsored in any way. We were not given free product or compensated for any of our reviews, and we had no contact with any of these brands.
  • We excluded any products containing artificial colors, artificial sweeteners, or sugar alcohols.
  • We did our best to include products with high-quality ingredients and minimal added sugar. All brands tested include primarily plant-based ingredients. A few of the bars did include honey, which is noted.
  • We tried to be as unbiased and objective as possible when reviewing.
  • We graded the protein bars on a scale of 1-5 (1 being poor, 5 being excellent) on:
    • Accuracy of stated flavor
    • Texture
    • General taste
    • Overall thoughts
  • For consumer awareness, we also examined:
    • Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp)
    • Grams of protein per bar
    • Cost per bar (US $) — subject to variability
    • Type of sweetener(s)
    • Additives — potentially undesirable ingredients added to improve flavor, texture, improve shelf life, etc.
    • Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.)
    • Additional perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt)
    • If we would repurchase

RESULTS //

Our top 4 picks for best plant-based protein bar

First place: R.E.D.D Protein Bar – Peanut Butter
Second place: Truwomen Protein Bar – Smother Fudger Peanut Butter
Third place: Aloha Protein Bar – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip
Fourth place: Truwomen Protein Bar – Zamn Good Zesty Lemon
Fifth place: Good! Snacks Protein Bar – Lemon
Sixth place: Good! Snacks Protein Bar – Choc. P.B.
Seventh place: Dang Bar – Lemon Matcha
Eighth place: Health Warrior Pumpkin Seed Bar – Dark Chocolate
Ninth place: Health Warrior Pumpkin Seed Bar – Dark Chocolate Peanut
Tenth place: Dang Bar – Chocolate Sea Salt
Eleventh place: R.E.D.D. Protein Bar – Mint Chocolate
Twelfth place: Nuzest Clean Lean Protein Bar – Vanilla Almond
Thirteenth place: Aloha Protein Bar – Chocolate Mint
Fourteenth place: Nuzest Clean Lean Protein Bar – Cacao Coconut

Honorable Mentions:

The following bars were not included above because they either did not meet our minimum protein or maximum sugar requirements. However, they were tested due to their popularity and/or unique ingredient profiles.

First place: Bob’s Red Mill Peanut Butter Chocolate & Oats
Second place: Goodbelly Cocoa Peanut Butter
Third place: Orgain Chocolate Peanut Butter
Fourth place: Purely Elizabeth Chocolate Sea Salt

PROTEIN 101 //

Why is protein important?

Protein is a component of all of the cells in our bodies. It supports the production of enzymes, hormones, and so much more to keep us feeling good!

How much protein do we need?

The Institute of Medicine has recommended that adults consume 0.80 grams of protein daily per kg of body weight. For example, it’s recommended that an adult weighing 150 pounds (68 kg) consume ~54 grams of protein per day.

The bars tested in this review (including the honorable mentions) contain between 5 g and 15 g of protein per serving.

Why protein bars?

Chances are, if you are eating a nutritionally balanced diet, you are probably consuming enough protein.

However, there are times when cooking or refrigeration isn’t realistic or possible — that’s when protein bars come in extra handy.

Though we prefer to have most of our snacks and meals closer to their “from the farm” roots, we find protein bars to be a great option when traveling or on-the-go!

THE REVIEW //

Open and closed package of R.E.D.D. Peanut Butter Protein bar for our unbiased review

#1: R.E.D.D Protein Bar – Peanut Butter

Note: We tested and linked to R.E.D.D’s re-formulated bar which is much lower in sugar than the original version. Some retail stores and Amazon still carry the old formulation, which has different packaging than the one pictured above.

Accuracy of stated flavor: 4.5 – tastes nice and peanut buttery, but it is confusing that the package does not disclose that it also has chocolate
Texture: 4.5 – holds together well and has a nice chewy texture
General taste: 4.5 – not much artificial taste — just tastes like peanut butter chocolate and is really pleasant
Overall thoughts: 4.5 – texture and taste are pretty spot on and it is remarkably low in sugar; could be a little more peanut buttery
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Peanuts, Pea protein, Organic hemp protein, Organic pumpkin seed protein, Organic chia seeds, Organic quinoa
Grams of protein per bar: 11 g
Grams of sugar per bar: 4 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.99
Type of sweetener(s):
Organic dates, Monk fruit extract
Additives: Prebiotic dietary tapioca fiber, Vegetable glycerine, Natural flavors, Sunflower lecithin, Rosemary extract (to preserve freshness)
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO, Some organic ingredients
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Organic maca root powder, Organic cordyceps mushrooms powder, Organic reishi mushroom powder, Organic chaga mushroom powder, Organic goji berry powder, Organic acai powder, Organic turmeric, Sea salt, Probiotics

Overall score: 18/20
Would we repurchase? Yes

Closed and open package of Truwomen Smother Fudger Peanut Butter Protein Bar for our plant-based protein bar review

#2: Truwomen Protein Bar – Smother Fudger Peanut Butter

Accuracy of stated flavor: 4.25 – tastes like real chocolate, peanut is detectable, but we wish it was stronger
Texture: 4.5 – bar holds together well and has a nice chewiness
General taste: 4.5 – not too sweet or salty and has a good balance of peanut butter and chocolate
Overall thoughts: 4.75 – better than expected, impressive taste considering the nutritional components
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Brown rice protein concentrate, Peanut butter
Grams of protein per bar: 12 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
 6 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.37
Type of sweetener(s): 
Cane sugar
Additives: Palm oil, Sunflower oil, Sunflower lecithin
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): N/A

Overall score: 18/20
Would we repurchase? Yes

Open and closed package of an Aloha Peanut Butter Protein Bar for our unbiased protein bar review

#3: Aloha Protein Bar – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip

Accuracy of stated flavor: 4 – salty peanut butter taste with some bites of sweet chocolate
Texture: 3.5 – firm and chewy bar, holds together well, but you have to work to eat it and it has noticeable seeds
General taste: 4 – has a faint protein powder-esque taste, but it does mostly taste like peanut butter
Overall thoughts: 4 – was better than expected, but not amazing

Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Organic peanuts, Organic brown rice protein, Organic pumpkin seed protein, Organic roasted pumpkin seeds
Grams of protein per bar: 14 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
4 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.16
Type of sweetener(s): 
Organic cane sugar
Additives: Organic tapioca fiber, Organic vegetable glycerine
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Sea salt

Overall score: 15.5/20
Would we repurchase? Yes

Closed and open packages of Truwomen Lemon Protein Bar for our plant-based protein bar review

#4: Truwomen Protein Bar – Zamn Good Zesty Lemon

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3.75 – initially lemony on the outside, but the interior doesn’t taste the same
Texture: 4 – soft, chewy, not too grainy
General taste: 3.5 – initially lemon zest and sweet exterior is nice, but the inside tastes like protein bar
Overall thoughts: 3.75 – pretty good flavor, good texture, but tastes a little protein-y and has a slightly bitter aftertaste

Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Brown rice concentrate, Roasted almond butter
Grams of protein per bar: 12 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
9 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.50
Type of sweetener(s): 
Organic cane sugar
Additives: Lemon powder, Natural flavors, Citric acid, Sunflower oil, Sunflower lecithin
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Sea salt

Overall score: 15/20
Would we repurchase? Yes

Good Snacks Lemon Protein Bar for our unbiased protein bar review

#5: Good! Snacks Protein Bar – Lemon

Accuracy of stated flavor: 2.75 – doesn’t taste very lemony
Texture: 4.5 – holds together well and is tender and slightly chewy
General taste: 3.5 – doesn’t taste very lemony, has more of a salty aftertaste, but isn’t bad
Overall thoughts: 3.25 – decent ingredients, but we wish the flavor was more prominent and not as salty
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Fava bean protein, Brown rice protein, Roasted almonds, Almond butter, Peanut butter
Grams of protein per bar: 15 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
10 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.42
Type of sweetener(s): 
Tapioca syrup, Cane sugar
Additives: Isomalto-oligosaccharides, Palm kernel oil, Natural flavors, Vegetable glycerine, Sunflower lecithin, High oleic sunflower oil, Citric acid
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): None

Overall score: 14/20
Would we repurchase? No

Closed and open package of a Good Snacks Chocolate Peanut Butter protein bar for our unbiased review

#6: Good! Snacks Protein Bar – Choc. P.B.

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3.75 – definitely chocolatey and somewhat peanut buttery, but the taste is somewhat artificial
Texture: 4 – bar holds together well and you don’t have to work hard to chew it
General taste: 3 – slightly bitter, sweetness is a little overpowering, and tastes like a protein bar
Overall thoughts: 3 – not bad, but not great
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Fava bean protein, Brown rice protein, Roasted peanuts, Almond butter
Grams of protein per bar: 15 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
9 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.42
Type of sweetener(s):
Tapioca syrup, Cane sugar
Additives: Isomalto-oligosaccharides, Palm kernel oil, Peanut extract, Natural flavors, Vegetable glycerine, Sunflower lecithin, High oleic sunflower oil
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): None

Overall score: 13.75/20
Would we repurchase? No

Closed and opened Dang Lemon Matcha protein bar for our unbiased plant-based protein bar review

#7: Dang Bar – Lemon Matcha

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3.25 – only faintly lemony and the matcha isn’t detectable
Texture: 3 – firm like a candy bar, but crumbles when touched — has unexpected and large pieces of crunch and texture
General taste: 3.5 – pleasant, but underwhelming — smell created the expectation for something more satisfying and flavorful
Overall thoughts:
3.75 – smells like a lemon Girl Scout cookie, has good ingredients, and doesn’t taste bad, but it is too crunchy and lacks flavor
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Almonds, Pea Protein, Sunflower seeds, Chia seeds
Grams of protein per bar: 9 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
3 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.77
Type of sweetener(s): 
Stevia Extract
Additives: Chicory root fiber, Pea protein crisps (pea protein, rice flour), Natural flavors, Lemon oil, Sunflower lecithin, Citric acid, Mixed tocopherols (Vitamin E)
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO certification in process
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Matcha green tea, Sea salt

Overall score: 12.25/20
Would we repurchase? No

Closed and open package of a Health Warrior Pumpkin Seed Protein Bar for our unbiased protein bar review

#8: Health Warrior Pumpkin Seed Bar – Dark Chocolate

Note: Contains honey

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3.5 – tastes like dark chocolate, but more so like seeds
Texture: 3.5 – bar of seeds stuck together with a tacky mixture, so there is a lot of chewing and crunching involved
General taste: 3 – not very sweet, kind of bitter, and mostly tastes like seeds
Overall thoughts:
3.25 – does have good ingredients, but the taste is not very enjoyable
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Organic pumpkin seeds, Organic milled quinoa
Grams of protein per bar: 8 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
6 g
Approximate cost per bar: $1.25
Type of sweetener(s):
Organic wildflower honey
Additives: None
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Organic Dutch process cocoa powder, Organic vanilla extract, Organic coconut oil, Sea salt

Overall score: 13.25/20
Would we repurchase? No

Plate with an open and closed package of Health Warrior Chocolate Peanut Pumpkin Seed Protein Bar for our protein powder review

#9: Health Warrior Pumpkin Seed Bar – Dark Chocolate Peanut

Note: Contains honey

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3 – kind of a bittersweet dark chocolate flavor with pieces of peanuts mixed in with other seeds
Texture: 3.5 – bar of seeds stuck together with a tacky mixture, so there is a lot of chewing and crunching involved
General taste: 3.25 – not unpleasant, but dark chocolate has some bitterness to it and the peanut flavor is not very present
Overall thoughts:
3 – has good ingredients, but the flavor is underwhelming
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Organic pumpkin seeds, Organic peanuts, Organic milled quinoa
Grams of protein per bar: 8 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
6 g
Approximate cost per bar: $1.25
Type of sweetener(s): 
Organic wildflower honey
Additives: Organic peanut oil
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Organic Dutch process cocoa powder, Organic coconut oil, Sea salt

Overall score: 12.75/20
Would we repurchase? No

Plate with a Dang Chocolate Sea Salt Protein Bar on a plate

#10: Dang Bar – Chocolate Sea Salt

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3.5 – does taste chocolatey and definitely tastes salty, but the chocolate tastes fake and the salt is overpowering
Texture: 2.75 – broke easily and when you try to tear it, it crumbles
General taste: 3 – overly salty and tastes like fake chocolate that is not necessarily sweet
Overall thoughts:
3 – not bad and not great — the flavor is off
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Almonds, Pea protein, Sunflower seeds, Chia seeds
Grams of protein per bar: 10 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
2 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.77
Type of sweetener(s): 
Stevia extract
Additives: Chicory root fiber, Chocolate, Pea protein crisps (pea protein, rice flour), Natural flavors, Sunflower lecithin, Mixed tocopherols (vitamin E)
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO certification in process
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Sea salt

Overall score: 12.25/20
Would we repurchase? No

Plate with an open and closed package of a R.E.D.D. Chocolate Mint Protein Bar for our plant-based protein bar review

#11: R.E.D.D. Protein Bar – Mint Chocolate

Note: We tested and linked to R.E.D.D’s re-formulated bar which is much lower in sugar than the original version. Some retail stores and Amazon still carry the old formulation which has different packaging than the one pictured above.

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3 – pepperminty and chocolatey, but is bitter and tastes like cheap peppermint extract
Texture: 4.5 – holds together well and has a nice chewy texture
General taste: 2 – is bitter and tastes like cheap peppermint extract which was overwhelming; I didn’t feel like I could taste a full bite
Overall thoughts: 2 – tastes as packaging said it would, but not in a good way
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Pea protein, Organic hemp protein, Organic pumpkin seed protein, Organic chia seeds, Organic quinoa
Grams of protein per bar: 10 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
3 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.99
Type of sweetener(s):
Organic dates, Monk fruit extract
Additives: Prebiotic dietary tapioca fiber, Organic palm fruit oil, Arabic gum, Vegetable glycerine, Natural flavors, Sunflower lecithin, Rosemary extract (to preserve freshness)
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO, Some organic ingredients
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Organic maca root powder, Organic cordyceps mushrooms powder, Organic reishi mushroom powder, Organic chaga mushroom powder, Organic goji berry powder, Organic acai powder, Organic turmeric, Sea salt, Probiotics

Overall score: 11.5/20
Would we repurchase? No

Plate with an open and closed package of a Nuzest Vanilla Almond Protein Bar

#12: Nuzest Clean Lean Protein Bar – Vanilla Almond

Accuracy of stated flavor: 2 – no resemblance of vanilla or almond
Texture: 3 – holds together well, but has a slight graininess
General taste: 2.25 – starts bland and then gets suspiciously bitter
Overall thoughts:
2.25 – unpleasant taste and texture
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Pea protein isolate, Almonds, Cashews, Sunflower seeds, Pumpkin seeds, Chia seeds, Tahini
Grams of protein per bar: 14 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
8 g
Approximate cost per bar: $3.33
Type of sweetener(s): Brown rice syrup, Raisin, Tapioca syrup
Additives: Natural vanilla flavor, Natural flavor
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Psyllium

Overall score: 9.5/20
Would we repurchase? No

Open and closed package of an Aloha Chocolate Mint protein bar for our plant-based protein bars review

#13: Aloha Protein Bar – Chocolate Mint

Accuracy of stated flavor: 2 – incredibly chalky and chocolatey, with overpowering fake mint flavor
Texture: 3 – holds together well and has a nice chew with a slight graininess
General taste: 1.25 – intense and unpleasant taste
Overall thoughts:
1.5 – flavor profile was there, but taste was awful
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Organic brown rice protein, Organic pumpkin seed protein, Organic cashew butter, Organic sunflower butter
Grams of protein per bar: 14 g 
Grams of sugar per bar:
5 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.16
Type of sweetener(s): 
Organic cane sugar
Additives: Organic tapioca fiber, Organic vegetable glycerine, Organic sunflower oil, Organic sunflower lecithin
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO, Organic
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): None

Overall score: 7.75/20
Would we repurchase? No

Plate with open and closed package of a Nuzest Cocoa Coconut protein bar for our unbiased review

#14: Nuzest Clean Lean Protein Bar – Cacao Coconut

Accuracy of stated flavor: 1.5 – tasted like fake coconut and was not very chocolatey
Texture: 2 – holds together okay, but has unpleasant crunch and graininess
General taste: 1 – I spit it out — very fake and bitter taste
Overall thoughts:
1 – had to spit it out — you couldn’t pay us to eat it
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Pea protein isolate, Almonds, Cashews, Sunflower seeds, Pumpkin seeds, Chia seeds, Tahini
Grams of protein per bar: 14 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
8 g
Approximate cost per bar: $3.33
Type of sweetener(s): Brown rice syrup, Tapioca syrup, Raisin
Additives: Natural flavor
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Psyllium, Cacao nibs

Overall score: 5.5/20
Would we repurchase? No

Honorable mentions: 

The following bars were not included above because they either did not meet our minimum protein or maximum sugar requirements. However, they were tested due to their popularity and/or unique ingredient profiles.

Plate with closed and open packages of a Bob's Red Mill energy bar for our unbiased review

#1: Bob’s Red Mill Peanut Butter Chocolate & Oats

Note: Contains honey

Accuracy of stated flavor: 5 – tastes like peanuts, chocolate, and oats
Texture: 4.5 – holds together well, has a slight chewiness, and oats and peanuts provide a slight crunch
General taste: 5 – perfectly sweet, a little salty, and very balanced
Overall thoughts:
4.25 – tastes like a no-bake cookie and the texture is nice, but it is high in sugar and does not have a lot of protein
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Peanuts
Grams of protein per bar: 6 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
10 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.42
Type of sweetener(s):
Organic tapioca syrup, Organic cane sugar, Organic honey
Additives: Organic rosemary extract (to preserve freshness)
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO, Some organic ingredients
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Sea salt

Overall score: 18.75/20
Would we repurchase? Yes — if wanting a sweeter bar and not worried about excess sugar

Open and closed package of a Goodbelly Probiotic protein bar for our review of plant-based protein bars

#2: Goodbelly Cocoa Peanut Butter

Note: Contains honey

Accuracy of stated flavor: 4 – peanut buttery, tastes chocolatey, but could be more chocolatey
Texture: 3.25 – very crunchy; our bar was broken because it is similar to a crispy cookie texture on the bottom with peanut butter frosting down the center
General taste: 5 – tastes like a candy bar
Overall thoughts:
4 – has a really pleasant taste, but is a bit on the crunchy side
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Peanut butter, Roasted peanuts, Puffed quinoa, Almonds
Grams of protein per bar: 5 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
9 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.29
Type of sweetener(s): 
Organic honey, Maple sugar, Cane sugar
Additives: Palm oil
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Some organic ingredients
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Probiotic cultures

Overall score: 16.25/20
Would we repurchase? Yes — if craving a candy bar (it’s quite sweet)

Plate with a closed and open package of an Orgain Chocolate Peanut Butter protein bar

#3: Orgain Chocolate Peanut Butter

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3 – tastes like a bitter, but not pleasant chocolate and the peanut is not really present
Texture: 4 – holds together well and doesn’t require excessive chewing
General taste: 2.75 – tastes noticeably protein-y, has a bitter aftertaste and tartness, overall not very enjoyable
Overall thoughts:
2.75 – good ingredients and potential, but doesn’t taste very good
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Organic peanut flour, Organic peanut butter, Organic chia protein, Organic peanuts, Organic almond butter
Grams of protein per bar: 12 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
14 g
Approximate cost per bar: $1.73
Type of sweetener(s):
Organic dates
Additives: Organic natural flavors
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Organic, Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): None

Overall score: 12.5/20
Would we repurchase? No

Plate with an open and closed Purely Elizabeth protein bar with reishi mushrooms for our plant-based protein bar review

#4: Purely Elizabeth Chocolate Sea Salt

Accuracy of stated flavor: 3 – very faint chocolate flavor, has more fruit undertones, and you can definitely taste the sea salt, but in an overwhelming way
Texture: 3.5 – stays together and is similar to a chewy baked oatmeal cookie in texture
General taste: 2.75 – not very enjoyable and doesn’t taste chocolatey — not sure where the fruity taste is coming from
Overall thoughts:
3 – has good ingredients but the flavor is off
Type of protein base (i.e. brown rice, pea, hemp): Cashews, Sunflower kernels, Pumpkin seeds, Almond meal, Chia seeds, Cashew butter, Hemp seeds
Grams of protein per bar: 5 g
Grams of sugar per bar:
7 g
Approximate cost per bar: $2.25
Type of sweetener(s):
Coconut nectar, Cane sugar, Coconut sugar
Additives: Natural flavor, Rosemary extract
Quality of ingredients (i.e. organic, non-GMO, etc.): Non-GMO
Other perks (i.e. probiotics, greens, superfoods, quality salt): Raw virgin coconut oil, Sea salt, Cinnamon, Reishi extract

Overall score: 12.25/20
Would we repurchase? No


We hope you enjoyed this review! Let us know what other protein bars you love in the comments below!

Reader Interactions

Comments

  1. Fred says

    Your review of vegan/gluten-free protein bars is helpful in assessing protein and sugar content. But a factor not discussed that can be important for people carefully monitoring their macros is fat content. The vast majority of high-protein vegan bars has very high fat content— often more fat grams than protein grams, and always far more fat calories than protein calories. High protein AND lower fat are my top priorities, with sugar content being the third consideration. Good taste, of course, remains key.

    Based on those criteria, the “good! Snacks” Choc PB bar comes out on top for me. The protein (15g)-to-fat (10g) ratio is better than any of the other bars that are ranked, the sugar( 9g) is tolerable to me, and the taste and texture are really good. I wonder if the fava beans, which aren’t a common ingredient in protein bars, contribute to the nice taste and texture. I have never detected the slight bitter taste you refer to in the review.

    I am not a fan of any of the other “good! Snacks” flavors I have tasted (haven’t had the lemon flavor yet), but the Choc PB is far superior in taste to any other vegan protein bar I have had in the many years I have eaten vegan protein bars.

  2. Michael J. Wolter says

    This was the most useful vegan bar review I have found. Thank you very much for all that strenuous study (and sometimes tedious tasting). The only room I saw for improvement would be (1) a table comparing the various factors rated and (2) a mention in each review of the bar’s weight, which would put in perspective such criteria as price and grams of protein and sugar.

  3. nikki says

    My favorite has been the Munk Pack protein cookies – they’re just huge so each one is like 2 protein bars. Tastier than the other protein cookies!

    • Michael J Wolter says

      I checked these out: It appears that, temporarily, at least, they are not quite vegan because of traces of milk in their chocolate supply. See answer to “How are these plant based if it contains milk?”

      • nikki says

        When it’s an allergen warning aka “May contain traces of milk” most vegans consider that vegan. It is used when food is made on the same equipment where other food that’s not vegan is also made. The company doesn’t use any animal ingredients, it just means that they don’t use the rigorous cleaning procedures that are needed to make something allergen-free (like when it says “made in a nut-free facility”. that takes a lot of work). Doing that wouldn’t have any effect on the amount of animal products used by whatever company makes the other food. Even vegan certified foods can have allergen warnings. Hope this makes sense.

  4. Emily says

    WoW! So many bars! I wonder if you’ve heard of the Garden of Life High Protein weight loss bar. It is the only one I have tried, other than VEGA protein bars. I will have to try some of these that you tested. Thanks!

  5. J says

    Loved this review, thank you!! I can’t wait to try a few new brands, what a great roundup. An alternative-milk review would be really awesome as well… soy, almond, oat, hemp… so many choices, so many brands. And I’d love to know how you think they stack up in things like oatmeal vs baking cookies vs cake vs smoothies! Love your work :)

  6. Emma says

    Oh a follow-up comment: I’ve also super been into Hemp Bars recently. Chocolate chip cookie dough is freaky good. No clue what it’s nutrition stats are, but flavour wise? ? <3

  7. Emma says

    I‘ve been obsessed with REDD bars for the past year and can’t stop talking about how good they are with the new formula (they sort of taste marshmallowey? Texture-wise. In a great way). As a lover of the mint flavour, I felt the need to redeem them from their low ranking on this list. I don’t find the mint overpowering, and while it does taste like artificial mint, I’m a huge fan of mint chocolate in general, which almost always tastes like artificial mint. If you’re a big mint chocolate person, you will like this mint chocolate bar! But also my #1 REDD bar and #1 protein bar is the plain chocolate flavour — BUY IT! I promise. You won’t regret. It’s even better than the PB one. Chocolate chips are out of this world – chunky, not bitter at all, perfect…..

  8. jw says

    Love this review, thank you! I picked up a Redd peanut butter bar when I was out today (on sale, coincidentally!) and LOVE IT. It’s my new favorite! Love the stats. Truwomen looks like it’s only available online…and I think I can find Aloha locally, so I’ll check them out next. Thanks again! :-)

Leave A Reply