Tempeh is a great way to add plant-based protein to any meal. We’ve rounded up our most FLAVORFUL tempeh recipes including sides, mains, and delicious appetizers. Scroll through to learn about tempeh and find some new ways to use it!
(Note: Dietary symbols listed throughout for easy navigation!)
What is Tempeh?
Tempeh is a fermented soy product that originated in Central or East Java, Indonesia, sometime around 1800 (source). It’s made of cooked, dehulled soybeans that are inoculated with mold, packed, and incubated until the beans are bound together by the mycelium (mold).
Sounds like weird science, but this fermentation process makes nutrients more available to your body. Plus, tempeh is rich in prebiotics, which are known to promote gut health. It also boasts a whole range of other health benefits, including its iron and calcium content (source).
Is Tempeh Gluten-Free?
Tempeh is made from soybeans and soybeans are gluten-free. But not all tempeh is gluten-free! So what’s the deal?
In addition to soybeans, tempeh can be made from other beans, wheat, or a combination of beans and grains. If the tempeh contains barley, wheat, or rye, it is not gluten-free.
Incredibly flavorful Thai- and Indonesian-inspired tempeh satay infused with lemongrass, turmeric, peanut butter, and coconut aminos for a hearty, rich depth of flavor. Enjoy over rice, on salads, in wraps, or as an appetizer!
Leave a Comment & Rating!